Say It Isn’t So, Honey Nut Cheerios

I love breakfast cereal, not so much as a breakfast food, but as a before bedtime snack. (I know; you’re not supposed to snack before bed. I’m not telling what I’d actually do, I’m just saying what I like — wink, wink). One of my favorite breakfast cereals is Honey Nut Cheerios (or any variety of generic alternatives). So, I was sorely disappointed, to say the least, when I discovered that a bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios has as much sugar as three Chips Ahoy! Cookies. (At least they taste a whole lot better. Chips Ahoy! cookies ought to be sent off the end of the plank … or renamed: They’re a lard cookie with a tiny bit of chocolate and a whole lot of sugar … But I digress.)

At least my beloved whole grain (!!!) Honey Nut Cheerios aren’t as bad as those nasty Honey Smacks, which have more sugar per serving (and probably a longer shelf life) than a Twinkie, according to the Environmental Working Group, as reported here, by the New York Daily News. (New York City! I suspect news is like salsa and shouldn’t be made in New York, but that’s probably grist for another post).

Leave a Reply

