And Now For Something Completely Different

I haven’t posted for a while so it’s time to catch everyone up. In a word, I’m back in Mississippi until Christmas. I will be a substitute US History and Geography teacher at Chamberlain-Hunt Academy in Port Gibson (the town where Brenda and I spent the month of July).

I received a phone call a couple of days after getting back to Sioux City asking if I could do this. There was an emergency medical situation at the Academy and they needed a teacher in three days (when teacher orientation began). I couldn’t make it in three days but I could make it before term started, so I said yes.

That call was eight days ago, so the last week has been a whirlwind of activity, during which sitting down in front of my computer was a pretty low priority. But I’m here and it’s the weekend, so I decided to take a break from reading about Dias, da Gamma and Columbus, as well as the development of the the Mercator map projection and write a little something here.

