Who Dat? Dat Hugh!

I don’t think I’m quite as bad as Dr. Sheldon Cooper (the uber-geek physicist on The Big Bang Theory), but I was reminded how geekily skewed my perspective on pop culture is during tonight’s Super Bowl. I normally don’t stick around for the half time show, but I was still in the room when the music started. I looked up and exclaimed, “Cool, it’s Hugh Fitzcairn!” and promptly sat down to watch the show.

I suspect Roger Daltrey is better known to most folks as the lead singer for The Who. But I’ve always associated him with the television series Highlander (which is still one of my all-time favorite t.v. programs), on which he played Duncan McLeod’s sometime sidekick, Hugh Fitzcairn. Who can forget the series of episodes where they kept blowing each other up? Or when they stole the Stone of Scone?

Oh yeah, it turns out ol’ “Hugh” sings in some British Rock Band too. Who knew! (It’s a pun! Bazinga!)

