Sincerity

“Sincerity is an openness of heart; we find it in very few people; what we usually see is only an artful dissimulation to win the confidence of others.”

Francois de la Rochefoucauld

Ironically, I found this quote in a newsletter I receive. It’s one of the most insincere pieces of marketing hype I have ever seen, but I sometimes like the quotes.

But to the point: What is true of our human relationships is true of our divine relationship. I propose that our “conversion” is but “artful dissimulation” of sincerity. But God, being gracious, accepts even that crumb with open arms. Sanctification is the process of scraping through the whitewash so that we can eventually approach God as we truly are.

When we sincerely approach God with no “artful dissimulation” we have achieved holiness.

I am reminded of St. Paul in 1 Cor 13:12

“For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.”

